Skip to main content

Tween Tuesday and Blog Tour: Just Grace and the Snack Attack

This Tween Tuesday is part of a blog tour for KidzBookBuzz. Tween Tuesday is a weekly meme where I highlight great tween reads. Be sure to add your Tween Tuesday link in the comments!

Just Grace and the Snack Attack by Charise Mericle Harper

Rating: 3/5 Stars

Genre: Contemporary

Release Date: 12/14/09

About the Book: Grace's class has a new project-find out about unusual food around the world. Grace decides to research potato chips. Grace finds herself a little jealous when her dad seems more interested in helping her best friend Mimi with her hot dog project than he does with Grace's potato chips.

GreenBeanTeenQueen Says: This is the fifth Just Grace book and the first one I've read. The nice thing about the book is that I didn't feel lost, so a reader could pick up any title and jump right in.

There are lots of illustrations, because Grace loves to draw, so the book would be great for readers who enjoy the Wimpy Kid books and are looking for other humorously illustrated books.


There were a few times that I felt that Grace's wisdom was a little wise beyond her years, but for the most part she is very funny and has some great observations about life that will be sure to leave readers laughing.

Grace is perfect for fans of Clementine and Allie Finkle. She somewhat reminds me of a less crazy Clementine-Grace seems not quite as wild, which I think readers who might not relate to Clementines crazy antics will appreciate.


Find more about the Just Grace series on author Charise Mericle Harper's website.

Here are the other tour stops: The Hungry Readers Our Big Earth All About Children’s Books Looking Glass Reviews Fireside Musings Green Bean Teen Queen KidzBookBuzz.com Book Crumbs My Own Little Corner of the World Reading is My Superpower Never Jam Today The 160 Acre Woods Carrie’s YA Bookshelf Everyday Reading Cafe of Dreams

Full Disclosure: Reviewed from ARC provided by publisher for tour

Comments

Post a Comment

I love hearing from other readers! Share your thoughts and chime in!

Popular posts from this blog

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Rating: 5/5 Stars Genre: Realistic Fiction Release Date: 2/26/2013 Add to Goodreads About the Book: Eleanor and Park are both misfits. When new girl Eleanor sits next to Park on the bus, they don't want anything to do with each other. But over the course of the school year, things change. It starts with comic books and becomes a friendship and a romance that the two will never forget. You never forget your first love. GreenBeanTeenQueen Says: Have you ever had a book sit on your shelf that you've heard so much hype about? And you think that books sounds like it would be right up your alley, but you're in a reading slump and you're afraid to give it a try unless it fails? I knew Eleanor and Park sounded like my perfect book, but I was in such an after committee slump that I even though I knew this book would help, I just didn't want to be disappointed. I should have known better because Eleanor and Park was perfect and everything that I had hoped it wou

Post Downton Abbey Reading List

Downton Abbey is over (with a shocking and frustrating ending!) and now I'm suffering Downton Abbey withdrawal. I've got a reading list full of books that I hope will satisfy my post-Downton Abbey cravings and I thought I'd share what's in my pile and get suggestions for other after Downton reads. Here's what I hope to be reading this year (a mix of YA and adult titles):                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  A couple Julian Fellowes reads:                And a few re-reads:                    Edited to add: What's on your Post-Downton Abbey reading list?

Tween Tuesday: Drizzle by Kathleen Van Cleve

Rating: 2.5/5 Stars Genre: Magical Realism Release Date: 3/4/2010 Add to Goodreads About the Book: Polly Peabody lives on a magical farm. They grow chocolate rhubarb, it rains every Monday at exactly 1:00, and her best friend is a plant named Harry. When the rain stops, Polly's brother falls ill, and her aunt wants to sell the farm, Polly must figure out a way to save her beloved home. GreenBeanTeenQueen Says: Drizzle is on our state book list and one of our Chat & Chew book club picks. The kids reviews were mixed on this one and sadly, it was my least favorite of all the books we read for Chat & Chew. The kids that liked it said it had action, but for me the plot was slow and dragged too much. The book could have been edited down and I lost interest in the story. I liked the magical farm that Polly lived on, but the magic wasn't enough to hold my interest. I felt like the plot went around in circles too much and never got going. The ending was also a bit