Skip to main content

Tween Tuesday and Blog Tour: Just Grace and the Snack Attack

This Tween Tuesday is part of a blog tour for KidzBookBuzz. Tween Tuesday is a weekly meme where I highlight great tween reads. Be sure to add your Tween Tuesday link in the comments!

Just Grace and the Snack Attack by Charise Mericle Harper

Rating: 3/5 Stars

Genre: Contemporary

Release Date: 12/14/09

About the Book: Grace's class has a new project-find out about unusual food around the world. Grace decides to research potato chips. Grace finds herself a little jealous when her dad seems more interested in helping her best friend Mimi with her hot dog project than he does with Grace's potato chips.

GreenBeanTeenQueen Says: This is the fifth Just Grace book and the first one I've read. The nice thing about the book is that I didn't feel lost, so a reader could pick up any title and jump right in.

There are lots of illustrations, because Grace loves to draw, so the book would be great for readers who enjoy the Wimpy Kid books and are looking for other humorously illustrated books.


There were a few times that I felt that Grace's wisdom was a little wise beyond her years, but for the most part she is very funny and has some great observations about life that will be sure to leave readers laughing.

Grace is perfect for fans of Clementine and Allie Finkle. She somewhat reminds me of a less crazy Clementine-Grace seems not quite as wild, which I think readers who might not relate to Clementines crazy antics will appreciate.


Find more about the Just Grace series on author Charise Mericle Harper's website.

Here are the other tour stops: The Hungry Readers Our Big Earth All About Children’s Books Looking Glass Reviews Fireside Musings Green Bean Teen Queen KidzBookBuzz.com Book Crumbs My Own Little Corner of the World Reading is My Superpower Never Jam Today The 160 Acre Woods Carrie’s YA Bookshelf Everyday Reading Cafe of Dreams

Full Disclosure: Reviewed from ARC provided by publisher for tour

Comments

  1. Here's my Tween Tuesday for today! Have a great holiday season.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

I love hearing from other readers! Share your thoughts and chime in!

Popular posts from this blog

Bedtime Books for the Weary

Today I'm over at the ALSC Blog talking about some of my new favorite bedtime-themed books!

Suite Scarlett Giveaway!!!

How would you like to win a paperback copy of Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson ? I have FIVE copies up for grabs!! When Scarlett Martin turns fifteen she is put in charge of the Empire Suite, one of the rooms in her family’s hotel. Enter Mrs. Amberson, an aging C-list starlet who decides to employ Scarlett. Soon, she is taking dictation, running around New York City, and getting caught up in Mrs. Amberson’s crazy adventures. In the midst of it all, Scarlett falls in love–or so she thinks–and it takes Mrs. Amberson to help her see the light. Now in paperback from top-selling author Maureen Johnson! Here's the deal: -Contest ends July 20, 2009 -For U.S. Addresses only, sorry! -Comment on this post to enter. -Come back and comment again on this post for another entry-you may enter as many times as you want!! -Blog/Twitter/Facebook/E-mail this contest to others for +1 extra entries -Link me to your review of Suite Scarlett (or any other Maureen Johnson book) in the comments for +2

About Me

Hello! My name is Sarah and I am a Youth Services Manager who works with kids, tweens and teens. I love being asked about great books to read! I started my blog in 2008 as a way to keep track of what I've been reading and to use a reference tool for reader's advisory and it's grown into much more than I could have ever anticipated. In addition to book reviews, I also enjoy posting audiobook reviews, booklists and my adventures in being a librarian. 2017 Library Journal Mover and Shaker Committees: 2021 Newbery Committee 2018 Odyssey Committee 2016 Caldecott Award 2013 Michael L. Printz Committee- Fabulous Films Committee I have also served on the Cybils, Missouri State Library Association Readers Selection Lists, and as an Audies judge. Presentations :  I have offered various presentations at local, state and national libraries and conferences. Topics have included:  What's New in Children's & Teen Literature Engaging Teens in Reader's Advisory Gee