Skip to main content

Wentworth Hall Giveaway

I have an obsession with Downton Abbey. And since this season ended, I've been wanting anything I can find that has a similar feel of drama and family secrets. I don't know what it is about historical period dramas with secrets and scandal that make me love them, but they make for perfect reads on a rainy afternoon, don't you think?

If you're a Downton Abbey fan like myself, be sure to check out the new YA novel, Wentworth Hall. There's plenty of family drama, secrets, scandal and lots of upstairs/downstairs happenings. You'll want to get caught up in the happenings of Wentworth Hall, the household and the staff- it's a good book to have on hand while we all wait for Downton Abbey Season Three!

Sound like your kind of read? It's your lucky day because I have a copy of Wentworth Hall and your very own gilded journal (to keep track of your own scandals and secrets, of course!) to give away! (Thanks to Simon & Schuster for the prizes!)

About the Book: And you thought there were secrets in the Abbey . . .

The Darlington family of Wentworth Hall, an elite British family, fills their time by caring for their extensive estate, and looking over their shoulders as they struggle to keep up an elaborate charade to hide their scandalous secrets of illicit romances, and bitter betrayals.

Wentworth Hall is a lush historical novel by debut author Abby Grahame, which is spot-on perfect for fans of Downton Abbey!

Check out an excerpt of the novel!

Want to win?
-Open to US Address Only
-Open to ages 13+
-Contest ends on May 9 at midnight, CT
-One entry per person
-Fill out form below to enter
 

Comments

  1. Great giveaway! I am really looking forward to this one. I love the Downton Abbey feel... it sounds great. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Fun giveaway!
    This one totally has my attention :o)
    ::fingers crossed::

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm excited for this one. The time period isn't used as a setting very often.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Love this giveaway! This book is definitely on my to-read list (I too am a huge Downton Abbey fan, and enjoyed your recaps this past season), and the journal looks really beautiful.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've been meaning to watch Downtown Abbey. I heard it is really good.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for the giveaway! There's been so much talk about Downton Abbey...I should add it to my Netflix queue.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

I love hearing from other readers! Share your thoughts and chime in!

Popular posts from this blog

Bedtime Books for the Weary

Today I'm over at the ALSC Blog talking about some of my new favorite bedtime-themed books!

Suite Scarlett Giveaway!!!

How would you like to win a paperback copy of Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson ? I have FIVE copies up for grabs!! When Scarlett Martin turns fifteen she is put in charge of the Empire Suite, one of the rooms in her family’s hotel. Enter Mrs. Amberson, an aging C-list starlet who decides to employ Scarlett. Soon, she is taking dictation, running around New York City, and getting caught up in Mrs. Amberson’s crazy adventures. In the midst of it all, Scarlett falls in love–or so she thinks–and it takes Mrs. Amberson to help her see the light. Now in paperback from top-selling author Maureen Johnson! Here's the deal: -Contest ends July 20, 2009 -For U.S. Addresses only, sorry! -Comment on this post to enter. -Come back and comment again on this post for another entry-you may enter as many times as you want!! -Blog/Twitter/Facebook/E-mail this contest to others for +1 extra entries -Link me to your review of Suite Scarlett (or any other Maureen Johnson book) in the comments for +2

Dear Books: Please Update Your Libraries

There is nothing worse than coming across a book you are really enjoying only to be pulled out of it because of some outdated and incorrect library reference. I know that authors and illustrators will not always get everything 100% accurate, but I when I read books that show a very dated stereotype, or something that is just so incorrect, I always wonder why. I feel like authors and illustrators should know better! And it's not just older books-it happens in new books too! I recently read A Big Surprise for Little Card by Charise Mericle Harper and illustrated by Anna Raff.  I absolutely loved this book! It's a creative look at libraries through the eyes of a library card. It's perfect for my outreach visits and storytimes about the library and promoting what value there is in a library card. Anna Raff gets major points for illustrating a very cool and hip librarian as well! But the librarian tells card to shush and is a bit annoyed when he shows up. And then l