Skip to main content

MLA: Need to Know Teen Lit 2014

I am very excited to present on Need to Know Teen Lit (and some Middle Grade!) at the Missouri Library Association Conference. Here is the list of books I talked about. Let me know if you have any others to suggest!

Trends
#weneeddiversebooks-be sure to check out the Tumblr page

"The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park":
I’ll Give You the Sun
Maybe One Day
Say What You Will
Side Effects May Vary

Zac and Mia

Other John Green and Rainbow Rowell connections:
Althea and Oliver (Perks of Being a Wallflower meets Eleanor and Park)
The Drowned Forest (Looking for Alaska meets Stephen King
Let’s Get Lost (Paper Towns)
Love and Other Forgien Words (for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell)
The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy (for fans of John Green
All the Bright Places (out in 2015)
Everyday Angel ("John Green for middle grade with a touch of magic")

Teen Written Memoirs:
Popular: Vintage Wisdom for the Modern Geek
Positive
This Star Won’t Go Out
Laughing at My Nightmare
We Should Hang Out Sometime: Embarassingly, a True Story

The Books:
100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith
Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
The Boundless by Kenneth Oppel
Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson
Cleopatra in Space by Mike Maihack
The Crossover by Kwami Alexander
Egg and Spoon by Gregory Maguire
The Eighth Day by Dianne K. Salerni
The Family Romanov by Candace Fleming
Five, Six, Seven, Nate by Tim Federle
Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith
Glory O'Brien's History of the Future by A.S. King
The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson
In Real Life by Cory Doctorow
The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
Let's Get Lost by Adi Alsaid
Life of Zarf: The Trouble with Weasels by Rob Harrell
Loot by Jude Watson
The Luck Uglies by Paul Durham
A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller
My True Love Gave to Me by various authors
Noggin by John Corey Whaley
The Port Chicago 50 by Steve Sheinkin
Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman
Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin
Saving Lucas Biggs by Marissa de los Santos and David Teague
Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
Sekret by Lindsay Smith
The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang
Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy
Sisters by Raina Telgemeir
A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd
A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman
To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han
The Tyrant's Daughter by J. C. Carleson
Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald
West of the Moon by Margi Preus
Wildlife by Fiona Wood
The Winner's Curse by Marie Rutkoski
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
When I was the Greatest by Jason Reynolds
Zac and Mia by A. J. Betts

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Bedtime Books for the Weary

Today I'm over at the ALSC Blog talking about some of my new favorite bedtime-themed books!

Suite Scarlett Giveaway!!!

How would you like to win a paperback copy of Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson ? I have FIVE copies up for grabs!! When Scarlett Martin turns fifteen she is put in charge of the Empire Suite, one of the rooms in her family’s hotel. Enter Mrs. Amberson, an aging C-list starlet who decides to employ Scarlett. Soon, she is taking dictation, running around New York City, and getting caught up in Mrs. Amberson’s crazy adventures. In the midst of it all, Scarlett falls in love–or so she thinks–and it takes Mrs. Amberson to help her see the light. Now in paperback from top-selling author Maureen Johnson! Here's the deal: -Contest ends July 20, 2009 -For U.S. Addresses only, sorry! -Comment on this post to enter. -Come back and comment again on this post for another entry-you may enter as many times as you want!! -Blog/Twitter/Facebook/E-mail this contest to others for +1 extra entries -Link me to your review of Suite Scarlett (or any other Maureen Johnson book) in the comments for +2

Dear Books: Please Update Your Libraries

There is nothing worse than coming across a book you are really enjoying only to be pulled out of it because of some outdated and incorrect library reference. I know that authors and illustrators will not always get everything 100% accurate, but I when I read books that show a very dated stereotype, or something that is just so incorrect, I always wonder why. I feel like authors and illustrators should know better! And it's not just older books-it happens in new books too! I recently read A Big Surprise for Little Card by Charise Mericle Harper and illustrated by Anna Raff.  I absolutely loved this book! It's a creative look at libraries through the eyes of a library card. It's perfect for my outreach visits and storytimes about the library and promoting what value there is in a library card. Anna Raff gets major points for illustrating a very cool and hip librarian as well! But the librarian tells card to shush and is a bit annoyed when he shows up. And then l