Skip to main content

MLA: Need to Know Teen Lit 2014

I am very excited to present on Need to Know Teen Lit (and some Middle Grade!) at the Missouri Library Association Conference. Here is the list of books I talked about. Let me know if you have any others to suggest!

Trends
#weneeddiversebooks-be sure to check out the Tumblr page

"The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park":
I’ll Give You the Sun
Maybe One Day
Say What You Will
Side Effects May Vary

Zac and Mia

Other John Green and Rainbow Rowell connections:
Althea and Oliver (Perks of Being a Wallflower meets Eleanor and Park)
The Drowned Forest (Looking for Alaska meets Stephen King
Let’s Get Lost (Paper Towns)
Love and Other Forgien Words (for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell)
The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy (for fans of John Green
All the Bright Places (out in 2015)
Everyday Angel ("John Green for middle grade with a touch of magic")

Teen Written Memoirs:
Popular: Vintage Wisdom for the Modern Geek
Positive
This Star Won’t Go Out
Laughing at My Nightmare
We Should Hang Out Sometime: Embarassingly, a True Story

The Books:
100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith
Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
The Boundless by Kenneth Oppel
Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson
Cleopatra in Space by Mike Maihack
The Crossover by Kwami Alexander
Egg and Spoon by Gregory Maguire
The Eighth Day by Dianne K. Salerni
The Family Romanov by Candace Fleming
Five, Six, Seven, Nate by Tim Federle
Grasshopper Jungle by Andrew Smith
Glory O'Brien's History of the Future by A.S. King
The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson
In Real Life by Cory Doctorow
The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson
Let's Get Lost by Adi Alsaid
Life of Zarf: The Trouble with Weasels by Rob Harrell
Loot by Jude Watson
The Luck Uglies by Paul Durham
A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller
My True Love Gave to Me by various authors
Noggin by John Corey Whaley
The Port Chicago 50 by Steve Sheinkin
Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman
Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin
Saving Lucas Biggs by Marissa de los Santos and David Teague
Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
Sekret by Lindsay Smith
The Shadow Hero by Gene Luen Yang
Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy
Sisters by Raina Telgemeir
A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd
A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman
To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han
The Tyrant's Daughter by J. C. Carleson
Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald
West of the Moon by Margi Preus
Wildlife by Fiona Wood
The Winner's Curse by Marie Rutkoski
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
When I was the Greatest by Jason Reynolds
Zac and Mia by A. J. Betts

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Rating: 5/5 Stars Genre: Realistic Fiction Release Date: 2/26/2013 Add to Goodreads About the Book: Eleanor and Park are both misfits. When new girl Eleanor sits next to Park on the bus, they don't want anything to do with each other. But over the course of the school year, things change. It starts with comic books and becomes a friendship and a romance that the two will never forget. You never forget your first love. GreenBeanTeenQueen Says: Have you ever had a book sit on your shelf that you've heard so much hype about? And you think that books sounds like it would be right up your alley, but you're in a reading slump and you're afraid to give it a try unless it fails? I knew Eleanor and Park sounded like my perfect book, but I was in such an after committee slump that I even though I knew this book would help, I just didn't want to be disappointed. I should have known better because Eleanor and Park was perfect and everything that I had hoped it wou

Post Downton Abbey Reading List

Downton Abbey is over (with a shocking and frustrating ending!) and now I'm suffering Downton Abbey withdrawal. I've got a reading list full of books that I hope will satisfy my post-Downton Abbey cravings and I thought I'd share what's in my pile and get suggestions for other after Downton reads. Here's what I hope to be reading this year (a mix of YA and adult titles):                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  A couple Julian Fellowes reads:                And a few re-reads:                    Edited to add: What's on your Post-Downton Abbey reading list?

Contact Me

  I love to hear from fellow readers and librarians! Send me an email to say hello! You can reach me at greenbeanteenqueen (at) gmail (dot) com