Skip to main content

Tween Tuesday

Tween Tuesday is a weekly meme that highlights great reads for tweens! Add your own Tween Tuesday post in the comments below.

I made a list of Diary of a Wimpy Kid read-alikes when I first started Tween Tuesday, but with the movie coming out, I thought I'd give some other great Wimpy Kid style books a shout out.
Middle School is Worse Than Meatloaf by Jennifer L. Holm
-This is a book told all through "stuff"-from notes left on the fridge, to IM chats and e-mails. It's a quick read very creative. I wasn't sure if I would like the format, but it worked and you do get a feel for the characters, even though there is no narration or dialogue. Give this one to picky readers who claim not to like reading!

-Big Nate is the latest entry into the Wimpy Kid-style world-and it's the book most likely to win over the Wimpy Kid readers. Nate is slightly younger than Greg Heffley, but the same tone, style, humor and voice are all ere. With a cover blurb by Jeff Kinney himself, I wouldn't be surprised if Nate became the book readers are clamoring for while waiting for more in the Wimpy Kid series. For a limited time, HarperCollins has the full Big Nate book available to read online, so get a sneak peek!

Geek Chick: The Zoey Zone by Margie Palatini
-Zoey has 198 days until sixth grade and she has to discover how to be cool before then. Zoey is a fun likable narrator and the book has a great "you don't need to conform to be popular" message for younger tweens, without getting to sappy.
Still need more? Check out these other Diary of a Wimpy Kid read-alikes:
-Regarding the Fountain (and sequels) by Kate Klise, illustrated by M. Sarah Klise
-Dork Diaries: Tales from a Not-so-Fabulous Life (and sequels) by Rachel Russell
-Dear Dumb Diary (series) by Jim Benton
-Stink: The Incredible Shrinking Kid (and sequels) by Megan Mcdonald
-The Adventures of Captain Underpants (series) by Dav Pilkey

Comments

  1. Great books! I'll need to really look into those. Here's mine:

    http://owlforya.blogspot.com/2010/03/tween-tuesday-march-16.html

    ReplyDelete
  2. What a fantastic list of read-alikes! I need to check some of these out.
    I just posted my Tween Tuesday review.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  4. You could also add the Fudge books by Judy Blume. I get a lot of raders hooked on those after they are finished with the Diaries. Here's my Tween Tuesday post.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'll definitely be passing this post on to our tween librarian -- she is always looking for updates to our "Wimpy Kid" read-a-like booklist.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Middle School is Worse Than Meatloaf was such a fun departure from the ordinary! I loved the colorful pages--it was perfect for light reading!

    ReplyDelete
  7. These look like fun books. I need to read more MG. I did purchase a few lately, but YA dominates my collection.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm so glad you post tween tuesday! :) My niece is 12 so I'm always on the lookout for fun books I can send her (she loves girly reads like Meg Cabot and Jenny B. Jones). And, admittedly, I love mg books all to bits :) I've seen a series that looks so cute but I can't ever remember the name once I get out of the book store. May-Bird, maybe? About a girl who finds a magical world in a swamp? I'll write it on my hand next time I'm there. I wanted to ask you if you'd read it and what you thought of it.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Natalie-Is it May Bird and the Ever After? I haven't read that one but I've heard it's good! Let me know if you check it out!

    ReplyDelete
  10. That's it! I'll let you know. I'm totally smitten with the cover. That doesn't really mean anything, but it's a good start! :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

I love hearing from other readers! Share your thoughts and chime in!

Popular posts from this blog

Bedtime Books for the Weary

Today I'm over at the ALSC Blog talking about some of my new favorite bedtime-themed books!

Suite Scarlett Giveaway!!!

How would you like to win a paperback copy of Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson ? I have FIVE copies up for grabs!! When Scarlett Martin turns fifteen she is put in charge of the Empire Suite, one of the rooms in her family’s hotel. Enter Mrs. Amberson, an aging C-list starlet who decides to employ Scarlett. Soon, she is taking dictation, running around New York City, and getting caught up in Mrs. Amberson’s crazy adventures. In the midst of it all, Scarlett falls in love–or so she thinks–and it takes Mrs. Amberson to help her see the light. Now in paperback from top-selling author Maureen Johnson! Here's the deal: -Contest ends July 20, 2009 -For U.S. Addresses only, sorry! -Comment on this post to enter. -Come back and comment again on this post for another entry-you may enter as many times as you want!! -Blog/Twitter/Facebook/E-mail this contest to others for +1 extra entries -Link me to your review of Suite Scarlett (or any other Maureen Johnson book) in the comments for +2

About Me

Hello! My name is Sarah and I am a Youth Services Manager who works with kids, tweens and teens. I love being asked about great books to read! I started my blog in 2008 as a way to keep track of what I've been reading and to use a reference tool for reader's advisory and it's grown into much more than I could have ever anticipated. In addition to book reviews, I also enjoy posting audiobook reviews, booklists and my adventures in being a librarian. 2017 Library Journal Mover and Shaker Committees: 2021 Newbery Committee 2018 Odyssey Committee 2016 Caldecott Award 2013 Michael L. Printz Committee- Fabulous Films Committee I have also served on the Cybils, Missouri State Library Association Readers Selection Lists, and as an Audies judge. Presentations :  I have offered various presentations at local, state and national libraries and conferences. Topics have included:  What's New in Children's & Teen Literature Engaging Teens in Reader's Advisory Gee