Wednesday, July 14, 2010

What's Your St@tus by Katie Finn Review PLUS Givaway!

Rating: 4/5 Stars

Genre: Contemporary

Release Date: 7/1/2010

Add to Goodreads

About the Book: Sixteen-year-old Madison still loves logging on to Friendverse to see what her BFFs and her cute new boyfriend Nate are up to. But the latest social networking craze is Status Q, which is all about rapid-fire status updates. When one of Mad’s friends has to pull off a high-pressure heist, the gang relies on Status Q to send code messages to each other…all in the middle of a school dance! Will up-to-the-minute social networking save the day…or lead to good old-fashioned disaster?

GreenBeanTeenQueen Says: I was happily surprised by this novel! Sure, it's fluffy and somewhat chick-litty, but I like that sort of thing, so I enjoyed What's Your St@tus. It was a quick read and loads of fun. The beginning of each chapter is told in Status Q updates, so I think it could have appeal for readers who like books written in chat, text, e-mail style. I wasn't expecting a lot going in and I was surprised at how much fun I had reading this book!

There's romance, mystery, and a great James Bond/Ocean's Eleven style heist the group has to pull of a prom night heist to take back was it rightfully theirs and stolen from a rival school. (I don't want to say too much because I don't want to spoil it!) The whole feel of the book was fun and it's something I could see easily being turned into a movie. There's lots of laugh out loud moments and even though the whole prom heist is somewhat unrealistic, it's still fun to read about. There are a lot of characters to keep track of, but after a few chapters I got used to it and I had a blast reading this one.

What's Your St@tus is a sequel to Top 8, but it's not necessary to read the other book first, as the author does a job of catching the reader up so they don't feel lost and What's Your St@tus can stand on it's own. I'll be recommending this one to my teens! It's perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars, mysteries, chick lit, or readers looking for books about prom.

Want to win a copy of What's Your St@tus?

One lucky winner will recieve A $10 Starbucks gift card and a copy of What’s Your St@tus!
-Open to U.S. addresses only
-Ages 13+
-Contest ends July 31st at midnight central time

To enter:
-Since the book is all about social media and a Twitter-like service, this is a Twitter contest!
-Leave a message for @greenbeanblog on Twitter telling me your best prom theme (can be anything you want-funny or serious)
-If you don't have Twitter, leave a comment on the blog or sign up for a free Twitter account!
-For one extra entry, Tweet about this contest-include @greenbeanblog!
-Remember-you have to include me (@greenbeanblog) in your tweets or I won't see them and they won't count!:)

For more info:
Check out the This Is Point website for a sneak peak!
Author Katie Finn's website

About the Author:
Katie Finn is the author of Top 8 and What’s Your St@tus?. She lives and writes in Los Angeles. Friend her on Facebook, follow her on Twitter @katiefinnwrites and visit her online at

Full Disclosure: Reviewed from ARC sent for contest


  1. That sounds like a fun book, sort of a Prom Heist Society. Very cool.

    I'm @lilbookworm on Twitter.

  2. So I'm old-school and don't tweet. : ( But I'd love a copy! I can't even remember my prom themes...but my 21st birthday/sorority bash was "Under the Sea" and held at an Aquarium. It was amazing! And no, we didn't steal anything!

    I'd love this book to add to my library's collection.

  3. my prom would have a wild theme with crazy colors and decorations like flashing colored lights

  4. I sent you a Tweet with a prom theme.

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net

  5. Tweet! Tweet!

    nancyecdavis AT bellsouth DOT net


I love hearing from other readers! Share your thoughts and chime in!

Imagination Designs