Skip to main content

What to Read Next?

I was looking through my keyword searches on Google Analytics and I found one that had searched for "what to read after Wake and Fade by Lisa McMann" and another one for "what to read after The Luxe series"

I'd like to compile a list of great books to read next and I'd love your help! For the Wake/Fade list I'm adding Sleepless, Uglies (just because it seems to work with those interested), and Deadly Little Secrets. (There are a couple other suggestions I need to add from my Twitter post)

For The Luxe, I'm having a brain fart this morning and can't think of good historical romance that I've read recently.

So, could you help me out? What books should I recommend? Any other "what should I read next" lists I should make? (I'll also be posting these at my library for the summer.)

Comments

  1. For post-Wake/Fade: The Dust of 100 Dogs. Okay, I didn't have very many suggestions but hopefully others will! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. After Wake/Fade -
    Kin: The Good Neighbors by Holly Black
    Evermore by Alyson Noel

    ReplyDelete
  3. I had that same problem when I finished The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson! I finally ended up reading Harry Potter!
    I'm so bad at picking the next book though, so I'm not sure what to suggest that you haven't read!

    ReplyDelete
  4. For Luxe... maybe The Season?
    I love google analytics!

    ReplyDelete
  5. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I think the Luxe is gossip girls in Victorian dresses. Any claim that it is historical fiction is a stretch in my opinion. I know its marketed as such, but as a huge history geek and someone who has a large collection of books on the Victorian Era I can honestly say the girls act too modern.

    But I would agree The Season.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oooh, I just finished Uglies. It was great. That's definitely one to check out!!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. For Luxe how about The Gemma Doyle series by Libba Bray? It's amazing! :) Slow at first but it gets too good afterward. :D

    ReplyDelete
  9. I enjoyed the Gemma Doyle series until the last book, which I thought needed to be edited down. There were also somethings I didn't like that the author did, but overall if people want Victorian romance/magic its a hit. And the first cover is amazing.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Luxe... oooh, check out Rebecca's Book Blog http://rebeccasbookblog.blogspot.com/ She has lots of historical books.

    I don't read many YA historical books, but I'm good with links. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

I love hearing from other readers! Share your thoughts and chime in!

Popular posts from this blog

Bedtime Books for the Weary

Today I'm over at the ALSC Blog talking about some of my new favorite bedtime-themed books!

Suite Scarlett Giveaway!!!

How would you like to win a paperback copy of Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson ? I have FIVE copies up for grabs!! When Scarlett Martin turns fifteen she is put in charge of the Empire Suite, one of the rooms in her family’s hotel. Enter Mrs. Amberson, an aging C-list starlet who decides to employ Scarlett. Soon, she is taking dictation, running around New York City, and getting caught up in Mrs. Amberson’s crazy adventures. In the midst of it all, Scarlett falls in love–or so she thinks–and it takes Mrs. Amberson to help her see the light. Now in paperback from top-selling author Maureen Johnson! Here's the deal: -Contest ends July 20, 2009 -For U.S. Addresses only, sorry! -Comment on this post to enter. -Come back and comment again on this post for another entry-you may enter as many times as you want!! -Blog/Twitter/Facebook/E-mail this contest to others for +1 extra entries -Link me to your review of Suite Scarlett (or any other Maureen Johnson book) in the comments for +2

About Me

Hello! My name is Sarah and I am a Youth Services Manager who works with kids, tweens and teens. I love being asked about great books to read! I started my blog in 2008 as a way to keep track of what I've been reading and to use a reference tool for reader's advisory and it's grown into much more than I could have ever anticipated. In addition to book reviews, I also enjoy posting audiobook reviews, booklists and my adventures in being a librarian. 2017 Library Journal Mover and Shaker Committees: 2021 Newbery Committee 2018 Odyssey Committee 2016 Caldecott Award 2013 Michael L. Printz Committee- Fabulous Films Committee I have also served on the Cybils, Missouri State Library Association Readers Selection Lists, and as an Audies judge. Presentations :  I have offered various presentations at local, state and national libraries and conferences. Topics have included:  What's New in Children's & Teen Literature Engaging Teens in Reader's Advisory Gee