Skip to main content

What to Read Next?

I was looking through my keyword searches on Google Analytics and I found one that had searched for "what to read after Wake and Fade by Lisa McMann" and another one for "what to read after The Luxe series"

I'd like to compile a list of great books to read next and I'd love your help! For the Wake/Fade list I'm adding Sleepless, Uglies (just because it seems to work with those interested), and Deadly Little Secrets. (There are a couple other suggestions I need to add from my Twitter post)

For The Luxe, I'm having a brain fart this morning and can't think of good historical romance that I've read recently.

So, could you help me out? What books should I recommend? Any other "what should I read next" lists I should make? (I'll also be posting these at my library for the summer.)

Comments

  1. For post-Wake/Fade: The Dust of 100 Dogs. Okay, I didn't have very many suggestions but hopefully others will! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. After Wake/Fade -
    Kin: The Good Neighbors by Holly Black
    Evermore by Alyson Noel

    ReplyDelete
  3. I had that same problem when I finished The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson! I finally ended up reading Harry Potter!
    I'm so bad at picking the next book though, so I'm not sure what to suggest that you haven't read!

    ReplyDelete
  4. For Luxe... maybe The Season?
    I love google analytics!

    ReplyDelete
  5. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I think the Luxe is gossip girls in Victorian dresses. Any claim that it is historical fiction is a stretch in my opinion. I know its marketed as such, but as a huge history geek and someone who has a large collection of books on the Victorian Era I can honestly say the girls act too modern.

    But I would agree The Season.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oooh, I just finished Uglies. It was great. That's definitely one to check out!!!

    ReplyDelete
  8. For Luxe how about The Gemma Doyle series by Libba Bray? It's amazing! :) Slow at first but it gets too good afterward. :D

    ReplyDelete
  9. I enjoyed the Gemma Doyle series until the last book, which I thought needed to be edited down. There were also somethings I didn't like that the author did, but overall if people want Victorian romance/magic its a hit. And the first cover is amazing.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Luxe... oooh, check out Rebecca's Book Blog http://rebeccasbookblog.blogspot.com/ She has lots of historical books.

    I don't read many YA historical books, but I'm good with links. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

I love hearing from other readers! Share your thoughts and chime in!

Popular posts from this blog

Bedtime Books for the Weary

Today I'm over at the ALSC Blog talking about some of my new favorite bedtime-themed books!

Suite Scarlett Giveaway!!!

How would you like to win a paperback copy of Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson ? I have FIVE copies up for grabs!! When Scarlett Martin turns fifteen she is put in charge of the Empire Suite, one of the rooms in her family’s hotel. Enter Mrs. Amberson, an aging C-list starlet who decides to employ Scarlett. Soon, she is taking dictation, running around New York City, and getting caught up in Mrs. Amberson’s crazy adventures. In the midst of it all, Scarlett falls in love–or so she thinks–and it takes Mrs. Amberson to help her see the light. Now in paperback from top-selling author Maureen Johnson! Here's the deal: -Contest ends July 20, 2009 -For U.S. Addresses only, sorry! -Comment on this post to enter. -Come back and comment again on this post for another entry-you may enter as many times as you want!! -Blog/Twitter/Facebook/E-mail this contest to others for +1 extra entries -Link me to your review of Suite Scarlett (or any other Maureen Johnson book) in the comments for +2

Dear Books: Please Update Your Libraries

There is nothing worse than coming across a book you are really enjoying only to be pulled out of it because of some outdated and incorrect library reference. I know that authors and illustrators will not always get everything 100% accurate, but I when I read books that show a very dated stereotype, or something that is just so incorrect, I always wonder why. I feel like authors and illustrators should know better! And it's not just older books-it happens in new books too! I recently read A Big Surprise for Little Card by Charise Mericle Harper and illustrated by Anna Raff.  I absolutely loved this book! It's a creative look at libraries through the eyes of a library card. It's perfect for my outreach visits and storytimes about the library and promoting what value there is in a library card. Anna Raff gets major points for illustrating a very cool and hip librarian as well! But the librarian tells card to shush and is a bit annoyed when he shows up. And then l